PDA

View Full Version : Idea: MOD54 + paterson reel + combiplan

Saus
9-Jul-2013, 02:13
So ok, I'm sure I'm not the only one having problems with the MOD54 (scratches, uneven development), so I've been thinking, trying to come up with someting that can fit in a paterson 3 tank. I am no engineer, and have no way to make this, it's just an idea in my head.

What if there was a kind of reel, that looks like a paterson reel for 4x5 (very tall paterson reel), that fit in the tank like the mod54, and loaded film like the combiplan? Did I explain that well enough? With vents for the chemicals to flow just like the 35mm/120 film reels, only a bit larger. Say you could fit 6 or 8 sheets. And the tracks would just have to be a little bit deeper.

Oh, and that there are 2 sides, just like the mod54. So you have 3-4 on each side.

Would the sheets be rigid enough (not popping out)?

Maybe we can invent something together? :)

Regular Rod
9-Jul-2013, 03:52
Here's how I process up to 4 sheets of 4x5 at once without a darkroom using a Paterson Orbital Processor (http://freepdfhosting.com/f640343f29.pdf)

RR

Saus
9-Jul-2013, 09:43
That tank is even more rare than the combiplan...

jp
9-Jul-2013, 10:19
Saus, that would work for inversion agitation, but not for rotating agitation based on what I understand from you. The combiplan track system is solid plastic.

Do your agitation in slow motion if you are having problems with the mod54 function. I have one that I don't use much because I am happy with the combiplan.

Light Guru
9-Jul-2013, 16:02
The old Nikor stainless steel 4x5 developing tank is the best design of daylight tank I have seen. But they are rare and pricy.

Saus
10-Jul-2013, 01:55
The old Nikor stainless steel 4x5 developing tank is the best design of daylight tank I have seen. But they are rare and pricy.

Wow, I didn't even know about this. And it kind of resembles what I've been thinking of, only that the tracks for the film are at the top and bottom of the holder.