PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Ekfe IR820?

zzpza
6-Jul-2013, 15:32
I'm pretty new to LF and IR photography, but have been processing my own 35mm and MF for several years. I've taken a few photos using an R72 filter and IR820. I am processing it myself using a MOD54 mk27 holder with a Paterson Super System 4 tank. The problem I am getting is spots on the negative. They are not drying marks as far as I am aware (not visible on the surface and I use RA50 wetting agent).

They are on all the photos I have taken so far, bar the first couple.

http://farm3.staticflickr.com/2884/9224112587_86a2d836af_c.jpg (http://www.flickr.com/photos/zzpza/9224112587/)
JungWoo45 00009 Waverly Abbey (http://www.flickr.com/photos/zzpza/9224112587/) by zzpza (http://www.flickr.com/people/zzpza/), on Flickr
(My scanner can only do medium format, so this is only part of the negative).

More examples here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/zzpza/sets/72157634280231875/

Is this a manufacturing fault? Or something I am doing?

Andrew O'Neill
6-Jul-2013, 16:08
Do you still get spots in different developers? What is your water quality like? Have you tried using distilled water? I use the same film in 8x10 and have never seen this before. I used to get pin holes occasionally until I started using a very mild stop bath. Your spots are not pinholes, though. They are dark spots and must appear a lighter spots on the negatives... very strange.

polyglot
6-Jul-2013, 19:04
Any chance the film got spattered with something before exposure? That can cause dark spots.

zzpza
7-Jul-2013, 01:39
I've have only tried Rodinal so far. The marks are visible on the negative when I take them out of the dev tank, i.e. when they are wet. I do not believe that they are getting wet before exposure, and have loaded non IR B&W at the same time and location (bath room, after dark) without problem.