PDA

View Full Version : Loading holders

Michael Lloyd
6-Jul-2013, 09:24
I have decided that I am phobic about loading film holders. I have a Linhof Master Technika, a nice array of lenses all on lens boards, film, dark cloth, loading tent, and the desire to shoot 4x5 film every now and then. I have shot a few Fugi-roid images with the Linhof so it's not a matter of not knowing how to use the camera. But when it comes time to load "real film" in holders I never seem to get to it. I have this stuff for years so I figured that it's time to ask for help.

Does anyone have any recommendations for learning to load holders. I'm afraid that I'll end up ruining a pack of film. I would rather hose the film up because I screwed up exposure, focus, or composition rather than during the loading process.

Robert Oliver
6-Jul-2013, 09:31
It's all part of the process.. to me no different than making a mistake in any other part of the process.

Get a couple of ruined sheets and practice loading in daylight... then close your eyes...

Jerry Bodine
6-Jul-2013, 09:34
Excellent illustrated article here (http://www.butzi.net/articles/filmload.htm).

Robert Oliver
6-Jul-2013, 09:37
It's also good to rehearse your movements and memorize item locations in your loading area before turning off lights.

Michael Lloyd
6-Jul-2013, 09:50
"In order to finish, you have to start"

I guess I better start. I don't have any ruined sheets Robert. But I'm sure that I can ruin some :)

Thanks Jerry. I'll check out the video. Hopefully I'll be posting an LF image here some day. In 2013. I hope.

Jerry Bodine
6-Jul-2013, 09:53
I'll check out the video.

Sorry about any confusion here. I edited my post to "article" NOT "video." Whenever I want to learn a technique I always prefer the "show me, don't just tell me" method.

Michael Lloyd
6-Jul-2013, 09:57
It's all good. I'm reading through it now. Good stuff! Thanks for posting the link

I really liked the way he started off