PDA

View Full Version : In search of developer

macandal
27-Jun-2013, 20:08
Hello. I'm looking for a new film developer. I started with D-76 and then moved on to HC-110. I liked both; they were good developers. The problem I had with D-76 was that, once the stock solution was made, I had to use it rather quickly before it went bad. I believe its shelf life was about 6 months, which may seem like a lot of time, but, once life takes over (and I'm not a professional photographer, meaning that I have to "find" the time to get to the darkroom), 6 months may go by faster than one would imagine. So I moved to HC-110. What I liked about it was that I didn't have to make a stock solution. I worked directly from the syrupy concentrate and diluted it with water to use only what I needed. However, HC-110 didn't work well with some types of film. In other words, it's not too versatile. I am looking for suggestions for another developer. Closer to HC-110 than D-76. What I mean by this is that I want a developer that I don't have to make a stock solution from. I want a developer where I can work directly from the concentrate and only mix what I'm going to need at any particular moment.

Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks.

jnantz
27-Jun-2013, 20:13
sprint film developer comes in a concentrate that you mix 1:9 with water.
it works well. and i have used it on + off since 1981 without any issues ..

if you don't mind mixing your own concentrate, ansco 130 is a great film developer
you mix a batch it lasts for about a year in a stock solution,
you pour off a little to develop your film ( 1:6 - 1:10 depending on what you like )
its not pre made though, that is the difference i guess ..

good luck !
john

Mark Barendt
27-Jun-2013, 20:34
D-76 is a whopping $5.79 for a bag to make a gallon at Adorama today. So what if you toss half a batch at the end of 6 months?

Bill_1856
27-Jun-2013, 20:36
Rodinal lasts forever.

David Schaller
27-Jun-2013, 20:38