PDA

View Full Version : Scanning software for Mac

Al Anderson
18-Jun-2013, 04:31
Hello all!
I'm completely new to this, and have only made a few shots with my 4x5 so far, and I just got a used Epson 4870 yesterday. I'm looking for some good scanning software to use this on my iMac. The Image Capture software that Apple has seems to be lacking in features.

Thanks in advance

Al Anderson

welly
18-Jun-2013, 05:23
Google VueScan or SilverFast.

sanking
18-Jun-2013, 06:22
Hello all!
I'm completely new to this, and have only made a few shots with my 4x5 so far, and I just got a used Epson 4870 yesterday. I'm looking for some good scanning software to use this on my iMac. The Image Capture software that Apple has seems to be lacking in features.

Thanks in advance

Al Anderson

You can still download Epson scan for the 4870 from the Epson web site. For scanning B&W negatives I prefer the Epson scan software to Silverfast and Vuescan.

Sandy

Harley Goldman
18-Jun-2013, 15:11
For scanning B&W negatives I prefer the Epson scan software to Silverfast and Vuescan.Sandy

I totally agree. It does a nice job on color, too. And it is free.

Al Anderson
19-Jun-2013, 10:02
Thanks all,

I downloaded Epson Scan, but have not ben able to get it working in Mountain Lion. I have a trial of VueScan and it looks promising.

Al Anderson
20-Jun-2013, 03:21
I ended up getting VueScan and it is working great for me. :)

ROL
20-Jun-2013, 11:16
+1, VueScan for older scanners and newer PC's. It has kept my SprintScan and Epson 4990 going with Mountain Lion. Ed was quick to respond with any issues getting these scanners up to speed.

Minhhich
24-Jun-2013, 03:03
Yup, Vuescan and Silver Fast are best

BradS
29-Nov-2013, 08:13
Upgraded the Mac Mini at home to OS-X 10.9 Mavericks only to learn that Epson scan is not supported on Mavericks (as of a couple of weeks ago). Does VueScan work with Mavericks?

Light Guru
29-Nov-2013, 08:24