PDA

View Full Version : How are the aperture scales on shutters determined?

keithb
16-Jun-2013, 14:33
I'm relatively new to LF and have just embarked on the adventure of buying an “in barrel” lens for cheap with the intention of fitting it into a shutter. And some questions have arisen that I should have thought of a while ago.

It has just occurred to me that I don't know how (or even if) the aperture scales on LF shutters are calibrated. Since many different lenses might fit on a Copal #1 (for example) with many different focal lengths, how does one get the scale right for a given length? Or, in the case of second-hand lenses how can one be confident that the scale on the shutter currently on the lens is correct for that lens?

Any wisdom gratefully received.

Keith

JW Dewdney
16-Jun-2013, 15:51
approximately speaking, the diameter of the pupil of the iris at any given position is measured as a fraction of the focal length. Doing it this way allows one to have consistent exposures on different lenses. So there's a few ways you could verify or calibrate your own. The a priori method would be to get a micrometer or other suitable measuring device and

1. look for a given diameter, like f/8. So if your lens is a 300mm lens for example - look up the ACTUAL focal length for that model - let's say it's 282.5mm (variances like this occur - the marked focal length is rarely the ACTUAL one).

2. in this case we're going to set the iris so that the pupil closes to 282.5/8 mm or around 35.3 mm. Exactitude isn't super important - the degree of error implicit in being out by half a mm is around 1/12th of a stop or less.

3. Once you have your f/8 marked on the linear scale (where the aperture actuator marker is sitting) - then figure out your f/16 or 17.6 mm in this case.

3A. an ALTERNATE and faster method is to use the scale of a lens with the same shutter model (in this case copal 3 if that's what you have) and just use the same increments as the mechanism is identical