PDA

View Full Version : El cheapo lens for 4x5 and Graphic Kowa 150 f/9

VPooler
16-Jun-2013, 07:58
Hi one and all! My name is Vallo and I am new to both this board and LF.
First, I am familiar with view cameras, I made one for myself out of scrap parts but it is mere 120 film format with a 6x7 frame. I want bigger. Ideally I want to reach 8x10 but until then 4x5 will do.
Since I come from a less economically able part of Europe, I don't have much cash to throw around for a decent camera, so I will make one myself. No biggie. Now, the lenses can be quite expensive. I have my eye on Tominon 127 and 105, both which allegedly cover 4x5 and go around cheap sometimes. I have a 75mm version myself but that doesn't cover nearly enough at infinity. But the Tominons are getting scarce and expensive and a good, cheap Raptar is also a bit hard to find.
Now, I got a nice metal plate from a neighbour of mine and that metal plate has 4, yes, 4 Graphic Kowa 150mm f/9 lenses mounted on it, without shutters unfortunately. But I like what I see on ground glass so I'd really like to utilize one for a 4x5 camera. It has a nice coverage, too. I am unfamiliar with the terminology but I believe these are barrel mounted? How could one attach a shutter to this lens?
Alternatively, I could offer a trade - one of the Kowas for a shutter for this lens or some other shuttered lens I could use for my project. All of the Kowas are in good condition.

All the best,
-Vallo

Ian Greenhalgh
16-Jun-2013, 08:03
Hi Vallo

The Tominons are poor choices for 4x5 as they only cover adequately at close distances.

The Graphic Kowas are very good lenses, sell three of them to finance something else. The fourth one, you can indeed use. I am not sure if the cells from this lens directly fit into a shutter or not, I suspect not. Unless you have a friend who can do the skilled machine work to make adapters to make it fit a shutter, it will be very expensive.