PDA

View Full Version : Where to fix the front standard on Super Graphic with Super Angulon 90mm

intangodelta
15-Jun-2013, 11:34
Hi, wonder if anyone can help me - I've got a Super Graphic that I've been using for a while with a 150mm lens. When I set the camera up I've just been locking the front standard at the position of the fitted infinity stops and everything seems to be ok. I've now got hold of a 90mm lens and it looks like that position won't work for this one.

I tried a putting it right at the back of the rails and that looked like it might work, but the range of focus seems very short. Is there a 'right' place to lock the standard? How do I find it?

I'm very new to this LF game...

thanks

E. von Hoegh
15-Jun-2013, 12:09
A Super Angulon may be problematic. Also, I'm not a Graphic expert, so this link might help - http://graflex.org/

fecaleagle
15-Jun-2013, 15:52
On a Crown Graphic, I would usually fix a 90 just before or just after the rail splits, depending on the shot. You can get another set of infinity stops to mark the position of focus at infinity if it helps.

Dan Fromm
15-Jun-2013, 16:38
Um, the 90 SA's flange focal distance is, depending on the model (f/8, f/5.6) and vintage (coated, multicoated), between 98.8 mm and 102.7 mm.

I'm sorry that I don't have a Super Graphic to measure, so don't know whether this puts the front standard on the fixed inner bed rails or on the movable outer bed rails. Regardless, the front of the lens board has to be at least 98.8 mm from the film placne when the lens is focused to infinity.

OP, you have the camera and lens, go ask them what works.

intangodelta
16-Jun-2013, 02:25
OK so that puts it just onto the outer bed rails. That's ok for infinity, do I have to manually set it closer to the film plane if I need to focus closer? Or further away?

intangodelta
16-Jun-2013, 05:02
OK, answered my own question - further out for closer focus. Thanks for the help.

fecaleagle
16-Jun-2013, 10:14