PDA

View Full Version : Why no retrofocus wide angles?...

Bob Fowler
24-Jun-2004, 08:12
The recent discussion about short focal length l.f. lenses has got me to thinking: Wouldn't a retrofocus design reduce the need for a center filter? I would think that because the rear cell would be farther away from the film plane, the law of inverse squares would have less of an effect on the edge brightness. OK, I'm not an optics expert so I'm not sure how covering power would be affected, but I would think that for a situation where not a lot of movements are required, a retrofocus design would (could?) be a good compromise. Opinions?

Leonard Evens
24-Jun-2004, 09:00
Most wide angle lenses that I've looked at are of slight retrofocus design. For example, the Rodenstock f/4.5 75 mm Grandagon-N has a rear flange focal length of 82 mm, which is 7 mm, longer than its focal length. I imagine the reason this is not pushed too far is that it is difficult to design an assymetric lens with good defintion over a wide field.

Sam Crater
24-Jun-2004, 09:51
I think the law of inverse squares has already been invoked by the time the light reaches the aperture. That is, it's a fundamental problem with rectilinear perspective. Imagine taking wide-angle photo of a bank of round light bulbs all in a plane parallel to your film plane. The bulbs at the edges will be larger in the image (due to rectilinear projection) but they're not any brighter, so the intensity of the light in the image has to be less.

ronald moravec
24-Jun-2004, 09:52
Not an optical engineer either, but based on 35mm experience, the lenses start to get very large. The fall in light is less, but still present.

Ernest Purdum
24-Jun-2004, 11:23