PDA

View Full Version : How important is large aperture to short lenses?

Bruce Watson
23-Jun-2004, 19:29
This recent thread:

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/lfforum/topic/498879.html

is interesting to me because like Mr. Butler, I too am interested in a lens in the 75mm category for backpacking with my 4x5.

One of the things I notice about these lenses is that modern lenses seem to have bigger apertures. Almost all of them are f/5.6 or better. My question is, why is this? What does the larger aperture bring to the party? I'm guessing that it helps with focusing. But I've never used a really short lens before, so it's only a guess.

What do you photographers who use really short lenses think about the importance of a big aperture in a short lens?

Pete Caluori
23-Jun-2004, 19:59
Greetings,

Largely the reason is it aids greatly in focusing. Not to say you can't focus an f8 lens, but a f5.6 is easier. The rear element on these short lenses is quite close to the ground glass, so light traveling to the corners has much further to go and the inverse square law takes effect. Another factor is the sharp angle that the light takes in hitting the glass off axis and this further makes the image darker.

Regards, Pete

Juergen Sattler
23-Jun-2004, 20:02
Pete beat me to the answer - it helps in focusing. WA lenses tend to have a lot of light fall off at the edges - you should also know that such an extreme WA lens will require a Center Filter most likely, unless you can live with the light fall off in the corners. These Center Filters are not cheap - around $300 at least.

Juergen

Pete Caluori
23-Jun-2004, 20:08
I forgot to add that I have a few wide lenses some are f5.6 others f8. I use them both, but when I'm carrying them on my back and weight is a consideration, I usually grab the smaller, lighter f8 lens. I don't have a 75mm, but I have a 65, 72 & 90mm lenses.

Regards, Pete

Christian Olivet
23-Jun-2004, 21:01