PDA

View Full Version : NIKKOR SW 75/4.5 Lens Board - Linhof Super Technika V

janrzm
4-Jun-2013, 14:27
Hi there,

Search as I may I just can't find a definitive answer regarding the correct lens board for this lens on my (new to me) Linhof Super Technika V.

I'm new to large format and the lens arrived as part of the kit but it's mounted to a flat Linhof board, I know this isn't correct I am pretty sure I need to find a recessed 12mm or 16mm Linhof Copal 0 board.

Is anyone else using this lens on the Technika V?

Thanks in advance.

Jason.

Leigh
4-Jun-2013, 19:27
Hi Jason, and welcome aboard.

You only "need" a recessed board if the minimum film plane-to-front standard distance is greater
than the flange focal distance of the lens (81,3mm for your Nikkor 75/4.5).

Measure that distance with a ruler. Insert a film holder with a trashed piece of film, remove the
dark slide, and use a ruler to measure from the film to the face of the front standard when it's
racked back as far as it will go.

Note that recessed boards may restrict the movements available at the front standard.
Depending on your subjects and your shooting style this issue can vary from trivial to severe.

- Leigh

janrzm
5-Jun-2013, 14:35
Thanks Leigh,

I sat down yesterday and looked at the existing arrangement of the NIKKOR 75/4.5 and lens board. Comparing what I have here to images of this lens online I noticed what I would describe as a spacer/adaptor (16mm) between the front of the lens board and the lens.

I disassembled the lens from the board and discovered the board has a 58mm diameter hole which is being reduced to Copal 0 size by the adaptor. I removed the spacer arrangement and fitted the lens to a Copal 0 board from my only other lens. Mounted to the camera I was able to achieve the full range of focus albeit with the lens only just out of the camera body.

Cheers, Jason.

Peter Yeti
5-Jun-2013, 15:34
Jason,