PDA

View Full Version : Tri X - HC110 dilution G

steve barry
27-May-2013, 01:45
I have been using HC-110 dilution G for a few years, on both both acros 100 film and Arista 100 and getting results I am very very happy with in all formats 4x5, 8x10, 120 and 35mm.

Room temp chemicals (72-75 deg), 1:119, 60 seconds gentle agitation and then 45-60 minutes untouched.

It has been a while since I shot any high speed film, but I tried this method (as a starting point) on both Delta 3200 shot at 1600 and just now with Tri X 400 shot at 400. Two different cameras.

Both are so underdeveloped they are unprintable.

So I started looking around, and found people using basically the same thing I have been doing, on Tri X and getting good results:
http://www.flickr.com/groups/hc-110/discuss/72157627740433943/

what gives?

steve barry
27-May-2013, 02:16
All from the same bottle of HC110 syrup.

Here is a 35mm acros developed this way:

crop:

645 TriX:

66 Delta:

Jim Noel
27-May-2013, 08:14
Very few people use Tri-X at an EI of 400. It generally tests out closer to 160. This said, the Tri-x is underexposed by at least one stop. I can not speak to the Delta since I have never used it or other ultra speed films.
How old is your HC110 syrup? There is a possibility it has lost power or become contaminated. There is also is the possibility that you accidentally over-diluted the developer.

steve barry
27-May-2013, 08:26
It is off by way more than one or two stops though. There is barely anything on the film. Can barely read Kodak. All of the above photos were developed separately using the same batch of developer one day apart. I mix one ounce of syrup in one gallon of water. When I use it I fill a one reel Paterson tank. And toss spent developer.

Roger Cole
27-May-2013, 09:13