PDA

View Full Version : Apo-Sironar-N 1: 5,6 210mm remarkable unsharpness at the border?

HorstS
18-May-2013, 08:31
Hello,

have this glass of Rodenstock on a Technika III 4x5 in use; came in Copal 1.
Since it was the first lens to this camera, I was wondered on the
"Difficulties" when adjusting the image. For a reasonably sharp
Image I had to stop down to at least 1:8, and then it was only in the middle
sharp.
I thought it might have been a typical 4x5 issue (poor focusing screen?), since I have no experience with 4x5.

In meantime, I own a Super-Angulon 90mm 1:8. And now I realize, focusing
the image is no problem. Sharp image at open aperture into the corners.

Shots with both lenses reflect that again:
From Super-Angulon everything as expected, from Rodenstock blatant edge blur,
and that at f 32.

So something must be wrong with this lens.

Question - who could safely conclude (only Rodenstock?)
- can such a glass be ever decentered / be centered?
- can be interchanged the hind limb (I had at least expected a lens number as on front element, but can not find)?
- Under the front element is a thin intermediate ring / washer. Can it be that maybe more belong there, that have been lost?

Maybe one of you has experience in this regard,
any response I am pleased.

Kind regards,
Horst.

E. von Hoegh
18-May-2013, 08:36
Something is drastically wrong with that lens. I'd vote for incorrect reassembly, or missing elements. A Plasmat (the type of your lens) will have in each cell a cemented outer pair, an airspace, and a single inner element. This lens should be sharp from center to edge at f:5.6.

Peter Yeti
18-May-2013, 09:25