PDA

View Full Version : Metering Light For Tintypes

mkvidt
12-May-2013, 16:22
Can someone help me out in understanding how you would meter for a tintype? I've heard the ISO can be as little as 2--did I hear that right? Is there some kind of mathematical equation in figure this out?

I'm very new to these photo forums, so if I'm placing this in the wrong area, please let me know. Also, I'm very interested it talking more about tintypes, so, if someone knows of a better forum for me to be in to learn more about the process and techniques, I'd love for you to let me know!
Thank You!! :D

BarryS
12-May-2013, 16:28
You don't meter for wet plate, since the sensitivity is low and doesn't match the spectrum in light meters. It's all done by experience-- not as hard as you might think.

mkvidt
12-May-2013, 17:00
You don't meter for wet plate, since the sensitivity is low and doesn't match the spectrum in light meters. It's all done by experience-- not as hard as you might think.

So it's just trial and error? :confused:

BarryS
12-May-2013, 18:35
So it's just trial and error? :confused:

Yes...and experience.

Jim Noel
12-May-2013, 18:41
The effective speed of collodion emulsions canbe as low as -10(10 below zero) depending on the ultra -violet radiation at the time and place.

Bill Burk
13-May-2013, 10:55
Why not use an actinometer? You know the Watkins Bee-type with a sheet of printing out paper that you turn a bit to expose a fresh section through a small hole in the device. Next to the hole is a reference tone, and you time how long it takes for the paper to reach that tone.

davehyams
13-May-2013, 15:53