PDA

View Full Version : England trip

Kirk Gittings
13-Jun-2004, 12:11
I am traveling to England later this year so my wife can visit her family. We will be around Leistershire in the Midlands. What are the best months and good locations to photograph. I am an architectural photographer by trade and am looking to expand my b&w fine art portfolio. I don't need good "vacation" weather. I am more interested in good "image" weather stormy etc. I may also make a side trip to Glasgow to check out the fascilities at the Glasgow School of Art where I may be teaching summer of 2005.

David E. Rose
13-Jun-2004, 14:58
Kirk, The Glasgow School of Art is well worth a trip. All of the Macintosh buildings in and around Glasgow are great. It is an amazing testament to Macintosh's vision that most of these buildings have been used for the same purpose for 100 years. The Glasgow School of Art and the Willow Tea Room are particularly good examples of this. Beyond the Macintosh stuff, Glasgow is a wonderful urban environment to photograph. Of course, once you get as far as Glasgow, you should go a bit further north to the Highlands! Loch Lomond isn't to far north of Glasgow. I think that the Scottish Highlands are about as senic as the UK gets.

As far as time of year, I have been to Scotland in the winter, early spring and late summer. I found all of these seasons to be fine- the main thing is to avoid the summer tourist season!

Bob._3483
13-Jun-2004, 20:03
As far as visiting times go, try to avoid the 2nd week in July to the first week in September as that is when schools are on their summer holiday and as such is the peak season for local tourism.