PDA

View Full Version : New to Large Format Photography - Acquiring range of Lenses for 4x5 Field Camera

Primo I.
3-May-2013, 05:38
Hi everyone,
I am a novice in Large Format and recently purchased a Zone VI model II field camera kit from the original owner who purchased it in 1988. I am trying to build the best range of lenses to use with the camera that would cover 4x5. I currently have 2 lenses that came with the camera. One is the Schneider Kreuznach Symmar MC f/5.6/210mm and the other is a Schneider Kreuznach Symmar S f/5.6/180mm lens.
I took a risk yesterday and purchased four lenses from someone who needed cash right away. The lenses were of no value to him since they were part of an estate liquidation and didn't know much about them.
I was familiar with a couple of them as far as the brand and focal length, but was not sure if they would be of any use in covering my 4x5 camera. They looked immaculate, shuttesr seem to be in excellent working condition, so I figured worst case if I couldn't use them on my camera, I could sell them and buy what I really needed. I am hoping though that at least three of them will cover 4x5 which is the reason I am posting this question. Here is a description of the lenses.

1) Graflex Optar f/ 4.7/135mm lens in a Graphex Shutter

2) Schneider Kreuznach G-Claron f 9/150mm in a Compur O Shutter

3) Schneider Kreuznach Symmar S f/ 5.6/150mm in a Copal - No. O Shutter

4) Technika-Heliar f/1:4.5/24cm Voigtlander Braunschweig Lens in a Packard Ideal Shutter (seems like an electronic Shutter)

I believe from some research I have done, the first three would cover 4x5 but I rather be sure of course. I would like two know what folks here feel about these lenses, if they are any good, worthwhile for 4x5.