PDA

View Full Version : Readyload backs, who has the better?

Kenny Dunn
29-Jun-1999, 20:15
I am fairly new to LF, and was thinking about getting some readyloads and back. I know that Fuji, Kodak and Polaroid make them. I want to get a Polaroid 545 s o I can also do polaroid film proofs, but a sales clerk said he had some custome rs that did not like them for readyloads. Does anyone have any preferences? Th anks

Larry Huppert
29-Jun-1999, 22:29
The answer to your question can be found within the "Film and Holders Threads" of the site.

james norman
2-Jul-1999, 01:31
kenny - not everyone agrees on this subject, and you need to find what works for you. i have used the kodak readyload system for several years, and i like it. i did have one of the holders fail on me on an out-of-town job, and came back with 60 or so blank negatives - the little metal tab that is supposed to hold the film in while you pull the dark slide portion out was failing to catch. on the other hand, i have shot probably over 10,000 negatives using that system, and i do not wish to switch. i have read that the fuji holder may be better, but it only holds a single neg per packet. i would hesitate to try and mix systems, such as using kodak film in a fuji holder, etc. also, while polaroid is fun, is quite helpful in certain studio situations, and can be an excellent medium in its own right, it is a huge pain in the field, and often tells you nothing helpful about exposure, especially if you are shooting b/w. otherwise, if you prefer fuji film, try their system, and if you prefer kodak film, use the kodak system.

Brian Ellis
3-Jul-1999, 18:54