PDA

View Full Version : 11x14 or 8x10 Field Camera

Nicolasllasera
26-Apr-2013, 03:59
I have a pretty big dilema with what camera to buy next.

I have been shooting 4x5 for a few years and love it. I mainly like arquitecture and some nature pictures. As I like having the most solutions possible I have a Sinar P2 and a Ebony RW45 in 4x5 format. As for 8x10 I have been using a Cambo Legend for a few years and now after I bought the Sinar I got a 8x10 conversion with the idea of selling the Cambo. As I would like to have a field camera in a bigger format Im looking at Chamonix and Canham 8X10. But I cant enlarge these negatives unless I send them to a lab. My idea was to contact print or cabon transfer these negatives. Should I buy a 11x14 field for this and leave my Sinar for shooting close to the car? Is 11x14 a good idea as for film holders and so on. I already have 3 lenses that will cover this format and a Jobo which can develope it. I know that I can shoot xray and Ilford ULF. My main concern is the price of film holders and their availability. I know I could get a 11x14 to 8x10 reducing back but I would like to keep each camera simple.

Thank you in advance.

John Kasaian
26-Apr-2013, 06:40
For about one quarter of the cost of one 11x14 holder you can buy an old school 8x10 Elwood enlarger, and there's a good chance you'll find an Elwood for sale before any reasonably priced 11x14 holders show up on the market.

Nicolasllasera
26-Apr-2013, 06:45
I could imagine John. But I live in Spain and that limits the market terribly.

jb7
26-Apr-2013, 06:50
For about one quarter of the cost of one 11x14 holder you can buy an old school 8x10 Elwood enlarger, and there's a good chance you'll find an Elwood for sale before any reasonably priced 11x14 holders show up on the market.

What price might be reasonable for an 11x14 holder?

I'm about to start shooting that format, and one of the reasons is to contact print-