PDA

View Full Version : ABS Developing Tank

jharr
15-Apr-2013, 11:17
I am a complete darkroom noob, so forgive me if I am overlooking obvious flaws here. This probably falls into the "solving a problem that doesn't exist" category, but that is where a lot of my DIY projects start. I have read about the 'taco' method of developing 4x5 sheets in a roll film tank and it seems that the main problem people run into is some sort of banding caused by the elastic hair ties used to hold the 'tacos'. There is the paper developing tube method which seems to work, but seriously?? $691 for a Jobo tube??? Numbers like that jolt my inner skinflint to life and I start designing the same thing for 1% of the cost. Really, it's a tube with some sort of mechanism to hold sheets of film. I took a couple of drinking straws and cut them to about 5" length and then cut slots down the length so if you are looking at the end it looks like a "C". Then I glued the straws inside a 12" length of 3" ID black ABS so that the open sides are facing each other about 4" apart "c______ɔ". Slide the film into the gaps in the straws and it holds it just fine without touching the inside of the pipe. Do two sets of these on each end and you can hold 4 sheets. It doesn't matter (as far as I can tell) which way the emulsion side faces. You can then use regular rubber end caps with screw clamp fittings to seal it up and use a roller motor or whatever agitation method you want (floating a la BTZS). It isn't as convenient as a 'daylight' tank with a light trap, but again, convenience costs $691.

J--

Leszek Vogt
15-Apr-2013, 20:34
It sounds good in theory. Wonder if I could apply your idea to larger dia ABS....using 5x7 film. Does that call for a fresh patent ? Can you show us some pics ? Thanks.

Les

jharr
15-Apr-2013, 21:05
Ok, here is the tank with the 'inner tube' inserted using a couple and an end cap as described above.