PDA

View Full Version : Shen Hao

Dharmendra Krisson
2-Jun-2004, 04:45
Can someone tell me what is the minimum and maximum lens that I can use on 4x5 Shen Hao. The minimum will be with the soft bellow and recessed lens borad. Mainly for landscape photography.

Michael Yuen
2-Jun-2004, 05:19
http://www.shen-hao.com/

Michael Veit
2-Jun-2004, 05:51
72mm to 300mm.

The 72mm can be used without bag bellows and recessed lens board if you're not looking for movements. The 300 is usable only to about 6 feet closest focus distance.

JM Woo
2-Jun-2004, 06:07
Michael:

Do you have experience using a 300mm on a Shen Hao? I'm new to LF and am shopping around for a new camera myself, and I tried out a friend's Shen Hao the other day with a Fujinon 240mm. Closest focus I got with the bellows racked all the way out was about 10 feet. (Was I doing something wrong?)

Michael Veit
2-Jun-2004, 06:39
JM,

Did you extend the front standard all the way? Remember you can swing the front standard way out past vertical to get that extra bellows extension. Take a look at http://www.badgergraphic.com/search_product2.asp?x=2594 which shows a photo of the front extended to get 360mm bellows extension.

But the answer to your question is, yes, I've done this quite often with a Fujinon 300 C, but would be worried with a heavier lens. I've even used a Fujinon 450 C with it that I have mounted on the end of tin can fixed to a lens board -- it isn't pretty, but it works.

Tony Galt
2-Jun-2004, 09:57