PDA

View Full Version : What is this???

stantheman13
13-Apr-2013, 05:12
This seems to be on the rear element of a Graflex Optar....135mm f:4.7. It is a ring of haze/mist/abrasion....center is clear. The rest of the lens is good. Was this caused by bad cleaning over the years? Delamination ( seems odd to be a perfect ring..bad cleaning would not cause this...and it seems to not be on the surface )?

Thanks all! I'm new here, but I've been a pro photographer for 35 years....my site: stanwanphoto.com

IanG
13-Apr-2013, 05:18
Have you got condensation inside the lens, I've seen this with enlarger lenses.

Ian

N Dhananjay
13-Apr-2013, 05:19
Probably from the cement crystallizing. Elements in a group were usually cemented in place. Sometimes the cement starts going bad, either because it is old and/or was subjected to some kind of stress (e.g., extremely cold weather etc.)
Cheers, DJ

E. von Hoegh
13-Apr-2013, 07:50
This seems to be on the rear element of a Graflex Optar....135mm f:4.7. It is a ring of haze/mist/abrasion....center is clear. The rest of the lens is good. Was this caused by bad cleaning over the years? Delamination ( seems odd to be a perfect ring..bad cleaning would not cause this...and it seems to not be on the surface )?

Thanks all! I'm new here, but I've been a pro photographer for 35 years....my site: stanwanphoto.com

Hard to say, without actually having the lens in hand.
That's a Tessar type lens, the rear is comprised of two elements cemented together. Is it on the inner surface of the inner element? Or in the cement between the elements? If it's not on the surface of the glass, it wasn't caused by careless cleaning.

BrianShaw
13-Apr-2013, 07:55
Ay carumba... that's scary looking!

Nathan Potter
13-Apr-2013, 11:29
Santa Maria! Looks like a classic example of a structural change in the bonding material between two elements - if it is actually between two glass elements.