PDA

View Full Version : Wide angle lens recommendation for Toyo 45CF?

Larry Huhn
9-Apr-2013, 07:11
I am new to LF and I have been building a kit which now includes a Toyo 45CF w/RODENSTOCK 150MM F6.3, a Sekonic L-508 meter, and of course a tripod. I am looking for a wide angle lens for the Toyo and my research indicates that a 90mm is about as wide as I can go without a recessed board. I know to look for a multi-coated lens but beyond that I do not know what to look for as the choices are overwhelming. Any advice on how to narrow the choices would be appreciated.

Thanks

Fotoguy20d
9-Apr-2013, 08:40
Larry,

I just sold my CF and decided to go with an AX (I had the CF for hiking) only. They're similar enough. Last week I was using a Nikkor 90mm f8 SW, no recessed board. In fact, I had it mounted on a Speed Graphic board with an adapter to put it on the AX. So, it was even a bit in front of the standard with no problems, although the standard was pretty far back into the body.. Even so, I'd recommend picking up the recessed board. With a bit of patience, you'll find one fairly inexpensively - most wide angle lenses are in Copal 0 so make sure its drilled accordingly. With recessed board, I've used a 75mm f4.5 on my AX. Keeping the rails out of your image becomes a problem that wide - it helps to drop the bed and adjust rise and tilt if necessary.

Dan

Larry Huhn
10-Apr-2013, 13:16
Thanks Dan.

Leonard Evens
11-Apr-2013, 21:51
I have a Rodenstock 90 mm Grandagon-N f/6.8 which has been a real work hose for me. I recommend it strongly.

Kodachrome25
15-Apr-2013, 23:29
I have a Rodenstock 90 mm Grandagon-N f/6.8 which has been a real work hose for me. I recommend it strongly.

+1 on the 90mm 6.8, I had no issues with using it on the CF when I had one and it is really sharp, still have the lens.

catalinajack
16-Apr-2013, 16:05
I have a recessed board available for $25 including shipping and fees.

Larry Huhn
16-Apr-2013, 18:51