PDA

View Full Version : Minimum focusing distance question

Pics2
6-Apr-2013, 04:13
Hi,
I'm looking for decently priced lens for still life (not necessarily a macro lens). I found few Rodenstocks 105 and 135 for good price. Since I have no experience with LF yet (building up my first combo with Cambo SCX) I got confused with minimum focusing distances for these lenses (according to Rodenstock data) - 135 APO Sironar Digital - 3m or 10ft, and 105 is 1.8m or 6 ft. Since I work with smaller formats lenses, after comparing these numbers, I got to the conclusion that it is impossible to get close enough to make a picture of anything smaller than a medium sized postal box, for example. Am I reading the data wrong? Is a macro lens only solution for still life, even though I don't do extreme macro work? I wanted to avoid a macro lens in my beginners setup, since those are very expensive, and I wanted to purchase a digital lens since I work with Phase One digital back. What are your suggestions?
Thank you very much!

Dan Fromm
6-Apr-2013, 05:54
If you can provide the extension, every lens' minimum focusing distance (front node of lens to subject) is the lens' focal length. How well the lens will perform focused that close depends on the lens.

You misread or misunderstood Rodenstock's recommendations. They give lenses' minimum focusing distance on a shift or panoramic camera when Rodenstock's FocusMount is used. The SCX is not a shift or focus camera, doesn't need to have the lens mounted on a Rodenstock FocusMount, and will focus as close as the lens' focal length and the camera's bellows will allow.

Your mind has been warped by using lenses in focusing mounts. View cameras allow more flexibility.

If you can afford a digital back you can afford a macro lens.

Pics2
6-Apr-2013, 06:41
Thank you Dan for your reply! It's much clearer to me now.

Bob Salomon
6-Apr-2013, 07:09