PDA

View Full Version : First 8x10 camera, and something bad

A9tm
22-Mar-2013, 23:52
This is my first time to evolve to LF, I've bought a wooden Burke & James 8x10 camera on the bay. It looks good as the seller's description, until I found out there's a looong crack at the right side of rear standard as you can see at below photo. I don't know was that camera DOA or something I don't want to talk.

Firstly I felt excited, and then it turned out very bad. I don't know can it be fixed, repaired, or it'll be broken when I don't take care it carefully in the future.

I highly appreciate if you could give me some idea about this situation.
Thanks,

http://i.imgur.com/fWkP4Sdl.jpg

P/S: I'm living overseas then I can't return the camera, unluckily.

Ed Bray
23-Mar-2013, 00:08
It doesn't look too bad to me, Have you tried putting a filmholder into the film gate then removing the lensboard and looking through the camera to see if there is any light leaking in, you will have to put a darkcloth over your head to prevent light seeping in between your face and the camera body.

I do suspect you would be able to fill the cracks though, especially as they appear to be along the grain lines with some sawdust mixed with some woodworkers glue or try some Gorilla Glue (google it) and push it into the cracks.

Peter Gomena
23-Mar-2013, 00:11
I don't own one of these particular cameras, but I have owned two antique wooden cameras.

First, it's usually not difficult to disassemble a wooden camera. Second, most repairs can be made with carpenter's wood glue. I'd take it apart to see how badly it's cracked, and go from there.

From what I can see in the picture, it looks as though the metal parts may have been over-tightened and damaged the wood. It may only be cosmetic damage, or it may be more serious. Depending on how it's made, some glue and reinforcement may do the job. If it's very badly cracked, you may need to use some epoxy to shore it up.

RichardRitter
23-Mar-2013, 05:11