PDA

View Full Version : Help needed identifying Petzval style lens

mrdoodle
19-Mar-2013, 09:04
Hi,

I'm new to both this forum and large format photography, so please excuse any newbie language or mistakes.

I have just discovered a vintage brass Petzval style lens that belonged to my grandfather and I need to get some advice on it, so I thought I'd ask the experts! Here are the questions I have, and if any of you can help me in answering them I'd be hugely grateful.

1. What type of lens is this (Petzval, magic lanter etc) and how can I tell?

2. What camera would this be suitable for (full, half, quarter plate etc)?

3. How old would a lens like this be?

4. What sort of price is this kind of lens worth?

5. It was in a pretty grimey condition and I (perhaps foolishly) cleaned it and polished it up a bit. Would this have lessened it's value?

Below is a list of information about it, and I have attached some photos. Hope this helps.

Brass construction

Lens glass is all clean, and in very condition.

Lens and mounting ring threads are in perfect and smooth working order.

'Tangent' focusing mechanism is well cleaned and running very smoothly.

65mm - width at far lens end

80mm - length (from mounting plate to end of lens when fully extended)

40mm - front and rear lens glass diameter

78mm - diameter of mounting plate

30mm(approx) - aperture/entrance pupil diameter

Many thanks! :)

maurits
19-Mar-2013, 13:46
Okay, I will bite (a bit),

Your lens hood looks like it is mounted reversed.

1. Your lens could very well be a Petzval design, it could also be a magic lantern lens. It can be both. None of your images show the upper side of the lens. Is there a horizontal slot, perpendicular to the lens' axis? If there is a slot, it is probably a camera lens. If there is no such slot, it is safe to assume you have a projection lens. Nothing wrong with that.