PDA

View Full Version : Size of light-baffle (?)

taulen
15-Mar-2013, 13:40
Hey,

I have a Century Master studio-camera, and wondered if anyone would be able to measure the baffle (?) that makes it possible to take 2 5x8" on one 8x10 sheet, and the one that makes 2 3,5x5 on one sheet of 5x7. I want to try and make those myself since they seem very hard to get a hold of. (I guess it have to be two different baffles.)
i hope someone would take the time to do that for me, and possible others on the forum that could have use for it.
I would like to know especially where the "hole" is placed on the baffle. How long from the edge and what else you think I would need, that I cant figure out myself to replicate it. The overall size and thickness and stuff I already have measured from the camera itself.

Thank you.

C. D. Keth
15-Mar-2013, 13:58
Can't you measure the camera and make baffles from that?

taulen
15-Mar-2013, 18:18
Maybe, but that would be some guess work, trial and error, would much prefer if someone were able to measure it for me.

taulen
21-Mar-2013, 13:00
For future references, or if someone should stumble-upon this thread looking for this information:
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?101485
Measurements provided by Louis.

1) overall dimensions for both wing boards is 9 7/16 "x 9 7/16 " and the set back on the rear of the wing board is a 1/4" on all four sides( like the set back on the back side of a lens board).

2) The opening on the main 5x7 wing board is 3 1/16" x 4 15/16" centered. The wings are made of aluminum & bent at 90 deg for attaching through the cut opening of the 5x7 wing board. The piece of aluminum should measure 2 13/16" x 4 15/16". On the 2 13/16" side (or long side) you'll want to make the 90 deg bend. You'll make the bend at 9/16", leaving 2 3/16" on the other side.Make a pair of these and the rest should be easy to figure out when you see the attached photos.