PDA

View Full Version : Ilford 2150 RC paper processor. Any experiences?

andré herger
20-May-2004, 07:54
Good day.

Does anyone have experiences with the paper processor Ilford 2150 RC?

I do not know if the quality of these prints is good enough for archival prints.

Does the machine give good results with large prints(50,8 cm)?

Thank you all for your infos about this machine.

Best regards André

kthompson
20-May-2004, 10:15
I've been using one for about ten years now where I work....have had some good & bad experiences with it, but on the whole--*if* the model you have is in decent condition, and if you approach it with the understanding that roller transport processors aren't perfect--the 2150 is a decent machine and is relatively user friendly compared to other similar processors.

the prints are probably not "archival". The big question here is always what your definition of archival is. The 2150 machines are probably the number one processors used by museums and archive photo labs around the world. The prints are processed rapidly, but the machine works by an elevated temperature--95 degrees F--instead of an activator type developer. What this means is that a non-developer incorporated paper may be used with the processor and these tend to have a better life than the dev-inc. counterparts. IF the processor is functioning properly and IF the model is young enough to have a sprayer bar on the exit portion of the wash tank? And IF the wash-flow rate is good, then the prints should get an adequate enough wash to be acceptable. I have selenium toned rc prints straight out of the processor--by shutting off the dryer and rewetting them briefly--with no ill effects. no staining etc. My experience has been if the chemistry is fresh and the wash is okay, the prints do rather well.