PDA

View Full Version : Is my shutter screwed?

johnmsanderson
7-Mar-2013, 01:10
Bought this Fujinon from felixslau on teh ebays and upon receipt I noticed the shutter cocking arm doesn't snap back after being cocked, and if you leave it in that position when releasing the shutter it creates a pretty big vibration. I can push it back to the pre-tension angle, and it SEEMS ok, but I'm no expert on this.

Please see video:

http://youtu.be/2TUhjjSHRTU

Pleaes advise...

Thanks

IanG
7-Mar-2013, 01:45
Well it needs a repair/service, I'd contact the seller, also double check the ebay listing then try to come to an agreement to get it fixed or send it back for a refund.

Ian

Andrew
7-Mar-2013, 05:00
Q. is the shutter locked open in viewing position ?

johnmsanderson
7-Mar-2013, 05:10
Q. is the shutter locked open in viewing position ?

No. I can close the shutter, it's just the lever that seems loose.

Thank you for the replies

ruckusman
7-Mar-2013, 07:19
Copal shutter - They do that

I actually just got a lens from the same seller, Fujinon 150 CM W, copal shutter - it does the same thing

Leigh
7-Mar-2013, 19:22
I actually just got a lens from the same seller, Fujinon 150 CM W, copal shutter - it does the same thing
That's not normal for a Copal shutter. At least the ~22 modern Copals that I have all return smartly.

I suggest a broken return spring. Probably a quick / simple / cheap fix, perhaps DIY.

- Leigh

Nathan Potter
7-Mar-2013, 20:05
Well your shutter is not screwed - but you are.:D Best to make amends with the seller for a partial refund, then maybe a CLA.

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

johnmsanderson
8-Mar-2013, 05:23
He is trying to say it was fine and was damaged during shipping. I took it to Nippon clinic and wad quoted $160 plus parts. Seems high.

Leigh
8-Mar-2013, 05:37
Personal opinion...

It sounds like they quoted a full CLA. That amount is probably 2 hours labor.