PDA

View Full Version : What are your favorite trays or developong film?

John Kasaian
21-Feb-2013, 10:14
I've been thinking of treating myself to new Cesco Lites with dimpled bottoms for my printing.
Until I can find a cure for my processor ills (or a wealthy dead person wills me their Jobo) I'll be developing in trays as I've been having just too many problems with the ol' Unicolor lately, so I was wondering how the Cesco Lites would handle multi-tasking? I've never used dimpled bottom trays before but it seems like an improvement that might reduce the issue of air bells.
Your thoughts?

cjbecker
21-Feb-2013, 10:19
I really like the Paterson's trays,

http://www.freestylephoto.biz/3241-Paterson-Developing-Tray-Accommodates-8x10-inch-size-prints-Red?cat_id=1603

I just ordered more in 8x10 and also have 4 in the 16x20 size. I find then great for developing paper and film.

Jac@stafford.net
21-Feb-2013, 10:29
No experience with Cesco, but for 8x10 B&W, look at the big auction site for item # 271159551226. I doubt the seller will succeed with his BIN. Others have sold for $15. I paid $5 each, unused.

The are used emulsion-up. The film is retained by a ridge on the bottom of each end. The original virtue of these rocking trays was for color prints using little chemistry, and ease of maintaining temperature (it can float in a tray of water). I use more than enough developer than they were designed for.

It might be worth keeping an eye out for one or more.

cjbecker
21-Feb-2013, 10:31
Do you get any uneven development in the rocking trays?

When I started in the darkroom, I used the rocking method to agitate my prints and had very uneven development. Very very bad skies and such.

Scott Walker
21-Feb-2013, 10:33
+1 for the Paterson trays

Jac@stafford.net
21-Feb-2013, 11:02
Do you get any uneven development in the rocking trays?