PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know how to use a Premiere Fiber Print Dryer?????

nikonrick
21-Feb-2013, 08:48
Hello all:

I'm a photography student in college, and I would like to start printing on fiber paper. We have a very old dark room with lots of old gear to use. Problem is, we lost our instructor last semester, and the new one does not know how to use the print dryer.

It is a Premiere B-2, a 20" wide stainless cylinder about 10" in diameter with a cloth that rolls around it.

Stacked by it, is a stack of 16x20 paper that evidently goes with it. It is glossy on one side, and flat on the other side.

We have tried several times to use the machine, but the fiber prints never come out right.

Does anyone know how to use this machine? If so, we would highly appreciate a simple set of instructions for both glossy paper, and luster paper.

Thanks for looking....

Richard Hollingsworth

PS: We also have a flattening press to use with it. Do you also know how to use the press? Do you need paper blotters with it, or do you just put the print in and press it? How long?

Thanks again.....

Jon Shiu
21-Feb-2013, 10:37
Hi, I would suggest just squeegeeing the prints and air drying them on screens (like window screens). A print dryer is difficult to use because if the glossy print surface is toward the drum it may stick or melt. If toward the cloth, it may get dust or chems imbedded in the surface.

To flatten with a press, let the press heat up with 2 pieces of 4 ply mat board inside. Try 200 degrees F. After it's hot, open the press to let some of the moisture out of the boards, then close it again to heat up. To flatten, put your print in between the mat boards and press for 30 seconds. Take the print out and quickly place under a flattening plate/board until it cools down.

Jon

Jac@stafford.net
21-Feb-2013, 10:52
That device is supposed to heat up, and adjust the heat by a rheostat.
Do not use it with resin coated medium.
I used it only for paper.