PDA

View Full Version : HC-110 + Tr-Xi Pan 320 dilutions and times

ryanmills
15-Feb-2013, 18:26
Bit of a sanity check as I am rather new to darkroom work. Going to take a stab at HC-110 + TriX 320 for 4x5 sheets in a Patterson 5x7 tray. 4 at a time to start with the normal shuffle.

I was going to use the times from: http://www.covingtoninnovations.com/hc110/

I'm planning for 75 degrees using dilution E, in my case since i'm doing it in trays I was going to start with 1000ml in the tray so with a ratio of 1:47 I believe that means I need 21.2ml of of concentrate add to 1000ml of water. Dev time would still be 5 mins, agitating 5 seconds every 30 seconds. That sound right?

jayabbas
15-Feb-2013, 18:58
Dilution ratio is spot on. Sounds like you are ready to shuffle. Unscientifically we used to presoak ( actually a dunk in water with 5-10 drops of Photoflo per 1000 ml ) . This helped immensely in avoiding airbell type pinhole defects that can happen when dry film is immersed in the developer and initial agitation fails to dislodge some sort of " crapola". A very rare problem in tray shuffling , but "Photoflo" helps avoid minor shuffle scratching on that thar soft emulsion.

Kevin Crisp
15-Feb-2013, 19:04
Not sure what you mean on agitation. You are going to go through the stack once every 30 seconds, and antipate it would take you 5 seconds to do that?

ryanmills
15-Feb-2013, 19:10
I forgot to ask about that. With tri-x and hc-110 should I presoak? I do have a bunch of photoflo, your saying to use in the prewash? Do I still just need a drop or so for 1000ml? I have never really read how much to use, i just see people put a tiny drop in.