PDA

View Full Version : LF selection help!

seandavid
15-Feb-2013, 13:42
Hi,

I'm new to this forum, and needing some advice (if possible?).

Excuse me if this question is redundant. I've been searching for information for months (maybe I'm not searching properly?!).

I want to invest in a LF camera for landscape work. I've been shooting a 5d MarkII for a few years now, and have begun to dislike anything digital. However, I do like using my 24mm TSE II lens, and want a camera that has similar movement capabilities.

I since bought a Rolleiflex 2.8F as a walk around camera, but it's obviously quite limiting in its uses.

Here's what I'd like:

- A 4x5
- Preferably an easily transportable camera
- Ability to use wide, wide lenses
- As much movement capabilities as possible
- Price... hopefully under $4K

I enjoy the work of Michael Levin and know that he used a MT 2000. I was almost ready to pull the trigger on one, but wondering if there is something similar, or better, with more movements?

Is there anyone out there that uses a MT 2000, and can tell me that the movements on it are adequate, or would equate to the capabilities of my digital set-up?

Sorry again if these questions are redundant! I've really tried to research, but have these specific questions.

I really appreciate any insight that anyone may have.

Thanks

Ari
15-Feb-2013, 14:12
Under $4K? Movements? Wide lenses?
Easy.
The aforementioned Linhof, used, or a Wista RF, SP or VX.

Alan Gales
15-Feb-2013, 20:25
I'd skio the Linhof and go for a used Wista RF, SP or VX and buy some nice glass with the money that I saved.

Alan Gales
15-Feb-2013, 20:26
Man, I need to start wearing my glasses while posting! That's skip not skio.

Bernice Loui
15-Feb-2013, 20:41
Allow lens choice based on the images you're interested in making, then choose a camera that best supports the lens choices.

There are a lot of really good value view camera gear on the used market.

Bernice

Alan Gales
15-Feb-2013, 20:49