PDA

View Full Version : Compensating for an off centre lens board

andrew gardiner
12-Feb-2013, 11:52
Hi there, I'm very new to LF and am just about to set off for the first time with my Wista VX on a serious and remote trip. My problem is I have at the last minute received a 180 Nikkor W 5.6 and they've mounted it on an off centre lens board presuming I was using a Wista wooden field camera.

Is it straightforward for me to compensate for this using front rise? Will it add complications? Does anyone have any advice for an absolute beginner? As well as shooting 4x5, which has a gridded gg, I also have a 5x7 adaptor back which I am wanting to use which doesn't have any markings.

All advice hugely appreciated

Andrew

C. D. Keth
12-Feb-2013, 12:10
You can measure the offset and make yourself a second witness mark if you want. In practice just use your eyes and don't worry about if the lens is perfectly centered or not.

With the ground glass, get a very fine pigma micron pen and draw a grid on it yourself. I use a .25mm pen but you could go heavier of you like a more visible grid. Wash the groundglass first with doh soap and hot water. Write on the ground side, keep even pressure, and do it in one motion without slowing or stopping and you'll get even lines.

andrew gardiner
12-Feb-2013, 14:06
Thanks very much C.D. Sorry to be a dullard - second witness mark?

C. D. Keth
12-Feb-2013, 14:24
Witness marks are those markings on most cameras that you align to set the camera to a "zero" point.

Bob Salomon
12-Feb-2013, 14:35
A genuine Wista lens board is off set the same way, and the same amount, as a genuine Linhof lens board with the same hole size.

This is so the optical center of the lens will be centered on the ground glass when the front standard is all the way down (the standard not the drop bed). That means that you do not have to compensate for the lens position at all.