Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Brand new to LF, want to get my feet wet

Brand new to LF, want to get my feet wet

I've been a professional portrait photographer for the past 7 years but throughout all that time, I've used nothing but digital cameras. Professionally, I'm very happy with my D800's but I would love to move into large format film for some personal projects. The problem is, I don't know where to start. I was hoping that if I shared my goals here, I could get some much needed advice as I continue to search the forum for past posts.

The project which I want to shoot on 4x5 is a series of portraits of my family members. We have several aunts/uncles on both sides of the family who are well into their 80s/90s and I would love to create some artistic portraits of them. My style is to have these mostly be headshots, perhaps waist up at the widest and very tight headshots at the closest. I would likely be shooting the portraits outdoors in open shade with a variety of reflectors/diffusion is needed. When I shoot digitally, my "go to" lens for these types of shots is a Nikon 135 2.0 lens, normally shooting around 4.5 to 5.6. I like a shallow depth of field, but I know large format is a very different beast. What lens/lenses would you recommend for a 4x5 camera for this type of photography? And what would be the best film to use? I'd like something with some leniency, especially while I experiment.

I don't believe I have the time to do my own developing currently as I don't have a darkroom, but it's something I'd love to get involved in down the road. I'd most likely be purchasing a scanner to scan the negatives and it seems like Epson models are the "go to" for this type of work - is that correct?

I'm very sorry for all the newbie questions. I'm a little overwhelmed at all of the information I've found so far and it seems pretty complicated. At the same time, I'm very excited about diving into large format photography some time this year.