Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First lens for landscape & architecture with Shenhao 4x5

First lens for landscape & architecture with Shenhao 4x5

Hello,

After some research, I have decided on the Shen-Hao HZX4x5-II A. The Shenhao fits my budget of roughly $1000, give or take a few hundred dollars more, for a kit (already have tripod and hand-held meter). I plan to use the camera for mostly landscape with occasional foray into architectural photography. I am having a tough time deciding which lens to get. I like wide angle lens, but am not sure if it would make a poor choice as a starting-out lens. Maybe I would be better off with a normal lens. On top of that is the brand choices. I am partial to Nikon since I have been using Nikon 35mm gear for the last eight years, but wonder whether or not I should consider other brand. What would you recommend as a starting-out lens for the above said applications? I don't see myself buying a second lens too soon down the road; maybe in 3 years time I can buy another one.

If you like wide-angle, a 121mm Schneider Super Angulon f8 is a good choice. It's not too wide, but still wider than a normal lens. "Normal" for 4x5 is a 150mm lens. This lens was one of Ansel Adam's favorites. It's single-coated, high quality, and usually sells for about $350 to $450.

But, I think it's better to begin with a lens that slightly longer than a normal lens. A good choice is a 180mm, which is my preference. Many people like something a little longer, like a 210mm.

Check the "Beginner's Questions" category for other responses to related questions.

Check out Steve Simmons book, Using the View Camera. It has loads of tips for first lens. I would ask what are you going to photograph? For landscapes a 210 is a good start. For architecture the 121.
    Thanks,
    Kirk

at age 73:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"

Hi Nghi,