Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wide Format Printers

Wide Format Printers

Hello,

I am looking into getting a wide format printer something along the lines of this...
    http://www.adorama.com/IESSP9900HDR....FUjZQgodZncACg

I am looking for any advise or comments concerning these style printers as I have very little experience
    with these.

Namely, is it worth it?
    What variety of papers would I be able to print on?
    What is the image quality like? How about for B&W any good?

Or should I look into a Canon or similar?

Thanks in advance!
    "I would like to see Paris before I die... Philadelphia will do..."

Re: Wide Format Printers

The epsons are very very good. Whether it's worth it depends on how much you need to print. If you print a small volume and sizes, a cheaper epson might provide the same good image quality but at a higher ink cost. If you print big or often, the big epsons like this are a safe choice. With the big printers , you are paying for quality construction, economical volume printing, and a good reputation in inkjet printing. It will print on about anything that will go through it.

I've got a 7600 model I don't use enough and it's clogged up. Whatever you get, use it often.

Unless you are going to make a lot of prints you are far better off sending your images to someone who knows what they are doing. This is especially true if you are starting at zero.

I'm not sure what you mean by "looking into"--if you are just getting into inkjet in general the huge printers are probably too much too fast. An Epson 3880 is a great printer, easy to use, makes nice prints up to 17x22, great black and white, and not too expensive...

--Darin

Quote Originally Posted by Darin Boville View Post