Thread: Epson 3200 & 4x5 Transparencies/Negatives...

Epson 3200 & 4x5 Transparencies/Negatives...

I know there are a LOT of very experienced Epson 3200 users on this forum and this postings is addressed to you folks.

I'm brand new to the world of scanning both 4x5 transparencies and negatives on an Epson 3200 flatbed scanner.

My question to all of you is, "What settings do you use most often when scanning 4x5 transparencies. And, are there different settings used for different transparency films?

The addendum to the above questions is, "What settings do you use most often when scanning 4x5 negative film? And, are there different settings used for different negative films?"

Lastly, what about 4x5 B&W negative films?

I know this is one of those "non-consensus oriented question" but I'm soliciting answers in terms of "what and why" did you choose the settings you did... In other words, are there settings used for the different film types that will maximize the quality of a scan in such a way that enhances the level of information available to software such as Photoshop.

Thanks in advance to all of you who respond.

Cheers
    Life in the fast lane!

I haven't done a great deal of color scanning with my 3200, Henry, but the color negative presets seem to be pretty close (using the Silverfast plugin). For B&W negatives, I have much better results scanning them as color transparencies, and then inverting in Photoshop. Also, contrary to the Epson instructions, I scan with the emulsion side down, and then flip the image in Photoshop. Much sharper results that way.