Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Measuring bellows compensation factors

Measuring bellows compensation factors

I'm quite new to large format photography, so I spent some time looking into bellows compensation factors. I ended up designing rulers in Photoshop to measure the bellows compensation factor based on bellows extension. So far I have created designs for 90mm, 150mm, 180mm and 210mm lenses.

I have written a short description of the steps I took and was wondering if anyone would be able to check that I've got the maths right and have a look at one of the rulers. The URLs for the description and image are:

Description

Ruler for 180mm lens (TIFF image)

Thanks very much

We non-engineer (artistic?) types prefer easy-cheat methods like the QuickDisk or the Calumet Exposure Calculator

Mathematics hurt my head when I'm busy trying to be creative.

I did the same thing, but: I put all of my scales side by side, folded the paper so that half of the scales are on each side, and covered it with transparent tape. Also I picked a place on the camera that measures easily (lens to film is not as convenient as between the standards) and cut the scale down to measure that. Always a reality check: focus on infinity, check that the scale indicates no compensation.

Tom,

Your analysis is correct.

I did more or less the same thing that Jim did. I can roll my scale up in something less than an inch in diameter, and it fits easily in my camera pack.

The only other bit of advice I have is that the extension is the distance from the film plane to the rear nodal plane of the lens. For most lenses, that is more or less at the lens board, but for telephoto or reverse telephoto lenses is may be some distance from the lens board. This can be dealt with by putting an appropriate offset on your tape. If you can't figure out what to do, let me know and I will describe it.