Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Advantages of 5x7 over 4x5 - flexability?

Advantages of 5x7 over 4x5 - flexability?

I have been an avid amature photographer for over 20-years, using 35mm and medium format cameras (Canon AE-1 Programs and Hasselblads) to shoot a great variety of subjects. Living in New Hampshire, I enjoy close proximity to the White Mountains and photograph a lot of mountain scapes, macro shots of plants/foliage, and star trail photography (follow link to great example of this as shot by photographer Bill Proud: http://forums.naturephotographers.net/6/ubb.x?a=tpc&s=8306088241&f=7086090941&m=5026011941). I want to step up to large format but am not sure of the camera size I should be looking for. I expect that I will mostly shoot 4x5 sheet film and am considering the Arca-Swiss F Metric, but do I understand correctly that a 5x7 camera with a reducing back, would allow broader camera adjustments across the larger ground glass, easier focusing and the ability to shoot the occasional 5x7, or should I just stick with the 4x5 model for its lighter, more compact frame? Though I backpack into many locations, I would be comfortable carrying up to 12 or 13 pounds of camera equipment (I know I'm going to regret putting that in writing) on those occasions, if I will have greater freedom in other aspects.

Michael,

5x7 Rocks! No polaroids, fewer choices for films, but It Rocks!

---Cheers!
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

To me, a major advantage of the 5X7 + 4X5 reducing back combination is that it makes fuller use of your expensive lenses. The same lens that provides worthwhile user of movements on 4X5 provides a truly wide angle view on 5X7.