Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: need help choosing a tripod

need help choosing a tripod

I am a beginner to LF. I currently have a Super Speed Graphic and use of an Omega View camera. I bought a Tiltall just to get started and I really dislike it (can't use for low shots, find that when I tighten the legs enough to hold the camera stable, they are difficult to loosen, etc.) . I have to rely on mail-order for everything so don't get a chance to see equipment in person before I buy.

I'm confused by all the tripod choices. I would like a relatively lightweight, sturdy tripod/head combination that I can splay the legs out for low shots and that is quick and easy to set up. What would make a complete tripod/head/QR plates/whatever else I might need system for $700 or under (if possible)?

I really appreciate any help that you can give me.

Anne,

FWIW, my Tilt-all has a reversable column---while the legs can't splay out all the way, it is possible to have my Crown Graphic as low as it can go.

For a really nice tripod, the Ries wooden ones are tops, but they aren't cheap and can be quite heavy. You might take a look at Berlebachs as an alternative, or a surveyor's tripod(these might even be available in your town!)

Good Luck!
    "I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority"---EB White

I have used a Manfrotto 3001 with a ball head with a heavy monorail (CC400). The legs seemed to be overloaded and the ball head was awkward to use. I bought a 3221 which offers good support for the camera but it is not the lightest legset. I like it though. A 3 way pan tilt head is alot more comfortable to use with a monorail in my opinion. The Manfrotto 3030 would be nice for your cameras if you don't need a level. These are well within your budget. I am not familiar with the more expensive models.