Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Copal Sync Post Replacement

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    166

    Smile Copal Sync Post Replacement

    Something is wrong with my shutter - an all black (modern?) Copal #1 (I believe) ... for a Schneider 210mm Symmar-S Multicoating ... it doesn't trigger my strobes.

    I'm wondering if replacing the post will likely fix the issue?

    I'm not sure how to install it or if this is even the right part ...

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...st_Socket.html

    My sync post / terminal doesn't have the 2 screw down sides as the part above does, it seems just to protrude from the shutter (it does have a small screw rather nearby it though).

    Thanks for any info,

    Bill

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3,116

    Re: Copal Sync Post Replacement

    There is a problem in your shutter (synch contacts), the synch cord, or the strobes. Replacing the socket is not likely to cure the problem.
    One man's Mede is another man's Persian.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Posts
    10,341

    Re: Copal Sync Post Replacement

    Is your synch contact on the shutter facing forward or straight up? All modern Copal shutters come with it sticking straight up. Some companies like Linhof supply a synch post adapter for the shutters that will be used in their recessed Technika 45 boards that convert the post to point straight ahead.
    If your 210 has that type of synch post then you probably do not have the shutter that was originally supplied for that lens. If you try another synch cord and the flash still doesn't fire then the shutter should be checked out by a qualified service center like Nippon in NYC.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    166

    Re: Copal Sync Post Replacement

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	copal.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	56.4 KB 
ID:	78113

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    166

    Re: Copal Sync Post Replacement

    Thanks for the info re: Nippon. I've tried the same cord + trigger in different shutters and my strobes fire fine, just seems to be an issue with this shutter.

    Thanks again,

    Bill

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	copal.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	56.4 KB 
ID:	78113

    P.S. I guess mine does have those two screws ...

    should I buy the part and try to replace myself?

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Posts
    10,341

    Re: Copal Sync Post Replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by spacegoose View Post
    ... should I buy the part and try to replace myself?
    Not unless you know why it isn't working. You could make a very simple and quick adjustment/repair of an expensive shutter quite time consuming and expensive.

  7. #7
    8x10, 5x7, 4x5, et al Leigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    5,028

    Re: Copal Sync Post Replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by spacegoose View Post
    should I buy the part and try to replace myself?
    I would not recommend it unless you're sure that's the cause.

    Examine the female (inside) contact with a magnifying glass.
    Since you have other similar shutters, compare the internal appearance of this connector with working ones.

    One failure (unusual) for this terminal is that the leaves inside get spread apart because somebody tried to seat the wrong connector.
    If that is the case with your connector, you can usually re-tension the leaves using a small needle to press them toward the center.

    Another possibility (also unusual) is that the leaves are broken off, due to someone trying to seat the wrong connector.
    If this is the case, you must replace the connector.

    Another possibility is contacts inside the shutter. (Any of these problems require professional repair.)
    The electrical connection between the shutter sync contacts and the PC center terminal is through a tiny phosphor-bronze leaf spring.
    This spring can get broken by improper assembly of the shutter (like after a repair).
    It can also get burned open by problems in the attached strobe system.

    When you tested your strobes with this shutter, did you use exactly the same cords and other accessories as when they worked?
    Test the system by shorting the center pin of the male cable connector to the sleeve with a screwdriver or similar.

    - Leigh
    If you believe you can, or you believe you can't... you're right.

Similar Threads

  1. Busch Pressman Flash Sync: Bi Post Connector on Rangefinder not lens
    By Jeff Romeo in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26-Aug-2011, 11:29
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 21-Sep-2010, 06:59
  3. Schneider 300mm Copal 3 flash sync problem
    By franklphoto in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8-May-2009, 20:59
  4. flash sync on LF lens without sync term (compound shutter)
    By Mike Netecke in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22-Jun-2004, 09:21
  5. Flash Sync for a Copal 1 Shutter
    By Emerson Valley in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4-Mar-2002, 05:59

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •