Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: VERY Heavy-Duty Tripod

VERY Heavy-Duty Tripod

Hi all and thanks in advance for any advice! I am a graduate student studying pollination and take alot of large format photos for my work. Last year I went out with a SLK tripod- big mistake- that got bent the first time I tried to push it gently into the ground to get a grip when photographing on a slope. Now two of the legs will not retract! Can anyone recommend a heavy duty tripod that will not break the band - remember I am a student! The conditions are fairly rugged and the plants don't grow on level ground. Thank you, Holly Morgan

VERY Heavy-Duty Tripod

Depends on the weight of your camera/lens. Tell us what you are trying to hold up, and we can perhaps help you find a tripod that can told it all.

Bruce Watson

VERY Heavy-Duty Tripod

The 003323 Linhof Heavy Duty Pro will support your house if necessary. It weighs in the 15 lb range without a center column and lists for more then $2,000.00 new without column or head.

It will hold whatever you have without vibration. But you might find the following more practical.

http://www.hpmarketingcorp.com/PR/Giottos%20pr.html

VERY Heavy-Duty Tripod

IMHO, a great used tripod for the money is an older Tilt-all, which can oftentimes be found inexpensively. I think I paid $40 for mine at a camera show -- it's from the sixties or seventies -- and have used it for all formats with great success. It's well-made with machined parts and brass innards for the rotating parts, reasonably light weight, has a multiadjustable head, raises pretty tall and has retractable spiked feet. It wasn't the prettiest (i.e. had its share of scratches), but I wasn't too concerned about that. The only thing is that the legs don't unclick like the bogen models to be positioned more horizontally.