Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Epson 4990 heads-up

  1. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Monterey Peninsula, CA
    Posts
    1,015

    Re: Epson 4990 heads-up

    The real conundrum is when you later need to maximize a print and get at detail that was left on the table with prosumer flatbeds. When you've got the need to go big, it's not only time for a PMT re-scan, but factor in the time-sink of redoing all the Photoshop post... And perhaps the need to closely approximate what the existing color balance on smaller prints, which may not be possible. At some point, PMT drum scanners start to look very attractive versus 3 distinct CCD scanners and workflows.

  2. #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    820

    Re: Epson 4990 heads-up

    Quote Originally Posted by Ivan J. Eberle View Post
    The real conundrum is when you later need to maximize a print and get at detail that was left on the table with prosumer flatbeds. When you've got the need to go big, it's not only time for a PMT re-scan, but factor in the time-sink of redoing all the Photoshop post... And perhaps the need to closely approximate what the existing color balance on smaller prints, which may not be possible. At some point, PMT drum scanners start to look very attractive versus 3 distinct CCD scanners and workflows.
    Wow... I fully understand your point. But an old fart like me with barely a few images left in him with limited income... drum scanners are probably better left to the young and/or professionals. A cheap flatbed scanner for up to 16x20 from 4x5 can be just the ticket and... photoshop adjustment layers, for the most part... can be re-scaled to ultra-high resolution scans. If we old fyookers REALLY want a last hoorah or two we can save up for a couple of professional drum scans. Once we old fyookers are gone... whose gonna give a damn anyway? Money wasted on vanity.

  3. #13
    Roger Cole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Suburbs of Atlanta
    Posts
    1,268

    Re: Epson 4990 heads-up

    Well I tried to pull the trigger, and it's out of stock now.
    My Flickr page

    Most blest is he who lives free and bold
    and nurses never a grief,
    for the fearful man is dismayed by aught,
    and the mean one mourns over giving.
    - Hávamál verse 48

  4. #14
    Wayne venchka's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,835

    Re: Epson 4990 heads-up

    4990s go fast no matter where you find them.
    I did have a 16x20 printed from a 6x7 negative scanned on the 4990. I sold it. My client liked it. The hardware behind the scenes didn't matter. A 16x20 from 4x5 would be easy.

    Wayne
    Wayne
    Deep in the darkest heart of the East Texas rainforest.

    Wayne's Blog

    FlickrMyBookFaceTwitSpace

  5. #15

    Re: Epson 4990 heads-up

    From the comparisons I've seen there's been no detectable increase in scan quality since the 4870 came out.

  6. #16
    Roger Cole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Suburbs of Atlanta
    Posts
    1,268
    Quote Originally Posted by John Rodriguez View Post
    From the comparisons I've seen there's been no detectable increase in scan quality since the 4870 came out.
    No matter - now I got myself convinced into buying one and the 4990s are gone I'll probably buy a new v700, if I don't just talk myself into the 750.
    My Flickr page

    Most blest is he who lives free and bold
    and nurses never a grief,
    for the fearful man is dismayed by aught,
    and the mean one mourns over giving.
    - Hávamál verse 48

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    107

    Re: Epson 4990 heads-up

    Kind of a side question here - I have a 4990 which does a great job generally, but I'm having a problem scanning 4x5s that are commercial shots with a black-white fade or gray bkgnd with a hot spot on the product. I'm getting a magenta/green cross through the area where the tone changes. Would I be better off getting a v750, or silverfast AI? I already have Silverfast for my Nikon 9000 and it works very well. Thanks !
    r.j. phil
    www.rjphil.com

  8. #18
    Bill Koechling's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    66

    Re: Epson 4990 heads-up

    I get really excellent results from 4x5 or MF film scanned on my v750. With care I can get really good (B&W) 35mm film scans as well. An outstanding 16x20 output from 4x5 film should not be a challenge at all assuming a quality neg/transp and a quality printer. I highly recommend using Silverfast Ai.

Similar Threads

  1. Can one change Epson 4990’s focus w/ Epson Scan?
    By Heroique in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30-Sep-2009, 07:18
  2. Epson 4990
    By kjsphotography in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 4-Nov-2007, 17:16
  3. EPSON 4990 epson scan thumbnail preview problem?
    By Eugene Yang in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-Feb-2006, 12:52

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •