Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Drying Expert drum

  1. #11

    Re: Drying Expert drum

    I load wet with full tubes and only dry it when I'm through.

  2. #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    41

    Re: Drying Expert drum

    Quote Originally Posted by timparkin View Post
    BE VERY CAREFUL WITH A BLOW DRYER!!

    I wrecked an expert drum when I dried it with a hair dryer - I assumed the plastic inside the drums was as thick as the plastic at the top - it isn't! It's very thin blown plastic and shrinks with heat so that the drum touches the back of the film.. Very annoying. However, I do now have two drum tops and they're the most difficult to dry.

    Tim
    Tim- I use the blow dryer on the cold setting. Haven't had any problems.

  3. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    San Clemente, California
    Posts
    2,335

    Re: Drying Expert drum

    Quote Originally Posted by wiggywag View Post
    ...I use the spong, but I dont feel it gets perfectly dry...
    Drying efficacy of the sponge rods depends on how old yours is. Early production used natural sponges, which are highly absorbent and, when starting with a dry sponge, leave the chambers perfectly dry. They even have enough capacity left to dry the top surface (where chamber tops connect.

    Later production sponge rods use synthetic sponges. They are close to worthless, saturating after wiping out just a couple of chambers, even if the drum is inverted and all chambers drained of water to the maximum extent possible. Fortunately, I have a two early sponge rods to use with all my Expert drums.

  4. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Seattle, Washington
    Posts
    2,916

    Re: Drying Expert drum

    Quote Originally Posted by Sal Santamaura View Post
    Fortunately, I have a two early sponge rods to use with all my Expert drums.
    That is fortunate! Otherwise you might be forced to try attaching a sponge to a stick, and that seems like an insurmountable technical challenge.

    I don't worry about getting my chambers perfectly dry, and I've never had a problem.

  5. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Stevens Point, WI
    Posts
    1,485

    Re: Drying Expert drum

    If you don't get the chambers dry, the film can stick when inserting it.

    When I use the sponges, I look into each tube and have to tilt the sponge in order to smear any water droplets. The sponge does not absorb all the water, but it can break the surface tension of the droplets so they evaporate much more quickly.

    Paper towels are compressed dust. I know some people have good results, but I won't use them.

    Not all blow driers have a setting with no heat. If I resort to a blow drier, I never use heat because of the delicate nature of the inner drums and because I don't want a heated drum when I am developing film.

    For BTZS tubes, you can wrap a flour sack towel (no dust) around a dowel rod and jam it in there. I would never do that with a Jobo!

  6. #16
    retrogrouchy
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    788

    Re: Drying Expert drum

    I roll up a cotton lint-free teatowel ("glass cloth"), stuff it in there and wind it around a bit. Or just stick the film in wet and do a prewash so that it's completely wet.

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    281
    Can I slightly hi-jack this topic and ask if caffenol developer will harm my Jobo 3005 drum?

    Jon

  8. #18

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    109

    Re: Drying Expert drum

    Quote Originally Posted by jonreid View Post
    Can I slightly hi-jack this topic and ask if caffenol developer will harm my Jobo 3005 drum?

    Jon
    It will make the drum smell like sh$t and make you want to throw up, but other than that you should be ok.

  9. #19

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    281
    Hmm,
    Ok. Glad I asked.

  10. #20

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    AMARILLO, TEXAS
    Posts
    21

    Re: Drying Expert drum

    Hello Tim.

    I also have an ATL 2300, my question for you....you mentioned you use the expert drum, does it fit right on the 2300?? or is there some things you need to change??

    thanks for the info !!

    Ralph

    www.ralphduke.com

Similar Threads

  1. FX-1 with Expert drum
    By Stefano_6020 in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31-Oct-2005, 07:40
  2. Expert drum ????
    By stefano_4565 in forum Darkroom: Film, Processing & Printing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8-Jul-2005, 16:56

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •