Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Front Mouting a Cooke Primoplane

  1. #1
    Guilherme Maranhão coisasdavida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    199

    Front Mouting a Cooke Primoplane

    Hello all,

    I was able to front mount a Cooke Primoplane lens for a test in a very simple manner over a not so big Ilex Acme shutter.

    I got this shutter off eBay and until I saw it I had another intention. I wasn't aware that the back piece (rear element thread + diafragm) could be dissassembled so easily, without preventing the shutter to work.

    This made the shutter much thinner, not cutting on the enormous coverage of the Primoplane.

    I was able to remove rear element thread and diafragm and mount the shutter straight onto a Technika/Shenhao board.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	03-CRW_5408.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	40.3 KB 
ID:	72555

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	02-CRW_5407.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	38.5 KB 
ID:	72556

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	01-CRW_5406.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	41.4 KB 
ID:	72557

    A blog post on this in portuguese: http://refotografia.wordpress.com/

  2. #2
    come to the dark s(l)ide..... Carsten Wolff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    UK at the moment
    Posts
    396

    Re: Front Mouting a Cooke Primoplane

    Good idea that. Nice lens isn't it? I had a few VIIb lenses once, (the successor to yours) but on the 108mm the elements were so closely spaced that they touched the shutterblades on remount, so I ended up keeping mine front-mounted. The longer focal lengths are ok. My 158 came in a Compur I think.
    http://www.jeffbridges.com/perception.html "Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you are right."

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,957

    Re: Front Mouting a Cooke Primoplane

    Cute. But it brings up the general unfairness of everything.

    In other words, my modern Acme #3 doesn't come apart like your old one so I had to have the rear tube cut off. Unfair!

  4. #4
    Guilherme Maranhão coisasdavida's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Posts
    199

    Re: Front Mouting a Cooke Primoplane

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Fromm View Post
    Cute. But it brings up the general unfairness of everything.

    In other words, my modern Acme #3 doesn't come apart like your old one so I had to have the rear tube cut off. Unfair!
    Dan, I'm sorry about that!

Similar Threads

  1. Toyo field and front shift- Horseman field front shift and locking
    By Jordan in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19-Sep-2010, 10:46
  2. Cooke XVa?
    By Donald Hutton in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 2-Mar-2010, 20:25
  3. Cooke 945 for 57 and/or 810
    By Robert Fisher in forum Lenses & Lens Accessories
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 1-Nov-2009, 20:36

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •