Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Epson scan software

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Burntisland
    Posts
    10

    Epson scan software

    Hi , I know theres loads of posts on the V750 I have been going through them trying to find out what I wanted to know! As a beginneer to scanning I have found lots of useful info on the site but can someone help me with the target size box in the Epson scan software, is it best to ignore it or select a size? I don't always want to crop my scans to the same size and do use the same image in different sizes.

    By the way sorry I'm scanning 5x4 B&W negs in the Epson holder

    Settings thus far have been 16 bit greyscale, scanned at 2400dpi leaving the target size as original then saving as a tiff file and sharpening and cropping as required in photoshop and i have been quite happy with the results but if anyone has any insight to make them better i'm all ears.

    Thanks Barrie

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    298

    Re: Epson scan software

    You are doing as I do. Use Professional Mode. Scan @ 16 bit/2400dpi, target = original, but all sharpening & other modifications off. Don't forget to set the Histogram end-points & output range before scanning.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Santa Barbara
    Posts
    1,159

    Re: Epson scan software

    I do the same as well and I am happy with my results. From my research, it is a waste of time to scan above 2400 and the target size left as default yields me a very nice file.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Burntisland
    Posts
    10

    Re: Epson scan software

    Thanks for that, I hadn't been setting the histogram end points but I will in future, I have been sorting them in Photoshop with Curves. At least I know I'm on the right track

    Cheers Barrie

  5. #5
    Greg Lockrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Temperance, MI
    Posts
    1,984

    Re: Epson scan software

    Quote Originally Posted by Barrie K View Post
    Thanks for that, I hadn't been setting the histogram end points but I will in future, I have been sorting them in Photoshop with Curves. At least I know I'm on the right track

    Cheers Barrie
    You really don't need to set the endpoints either, you can do that post processing in Photoshop or other program. I always make a test print from raw scan before I decide where to go. I would rather work from "more" than "less" of a histogram. I DO NOT depend on what I see on a screen vs what I see on the paper I will be using.
    Greg Lockrey

    Wealth is a state of mind.
    Money is just a tool.
    Happiness is pedaling +25mph on a smooth road.



  6. #6
    Jon Shiu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Elk, California
    Posts
    1,075

    Re: Epson scan software

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Lockrey View Post
    You really don't need to set the endpoints either, you can do that post processing in Photoshop or other program. I always make a test print from raw scan before I decide where to go. I would rather work from "more" than "less" of a histogram. I DO NOT depend on what I see on a screen vs what I see on the paper I will be using.
    Normally, the Epson pre-scan will automatically set the exposure and clip the black point/white point, so that is why people say to adjust the black and white points in the driver, ie move them out a bit to preserve data.

    Jon
    my black and white photos of the Mendocino Coast: www.jonshiu.com

  7. #7
    Greg Lockrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Temperance, MI
    Posts
    1,984

    Re: Epson scan software

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Shiu View Post
    Normally, the Epson pre-scan will automatically set the exposure and clip the black point/white point, so that is why people say to adjust the black and white points in the driver, ie move them out a bit to preserve data.

    Jon
    Maybe so... but I calibrated mine to a standard and normally have about 10 units on each side to play with. It's been so long since I set it up that I forgot it's significance. If the histogram hits the edge then do what Jon says.
    Greg Lockrey

    Wealth is a state of mind.
    Money is just a tool.
    Happiness is pedaling +25mph on a smooth road.



  8. #8

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Burntisland
    Posts
    10

    Re: Epson scan software

    Quote Originally Posted by Harley Goldman View Post
    I do the same as well and I am happy with my results. From my research, it is a waste of time to scan above 2400 and the target size left as default yields me a very nice file.
    I really enjoyed browsing your web site, may I ask if some of them are negs that have been scanned on an Epson scanner? Beautiful collection of images by the way you must be very proud.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Santa Barbara
    Posts
    1,159

    Re: Epson scan software

    Quote Originally Posted by Barrie K View Post
    I really enjoyed browsing your web site, may I ask if some of them are negs that have been scanned on an Epson scanner? Beautiful collection of images by the way you must be very proud.
    Thanks very much Barrie. I appreciate the comment. 95% of the work on my site was scanner with an Epson. Some with older versions, most with the 750. I regularly print 16x20 and I am happy with the results.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Burntisland
    Posts
    10

    Re: Epson scan software

    Quote Originally Posted by Harley Goldman View Post
    Thanks very much Barrie. I appreciate the comment. 95% of the work on my site was scanner with an Epson. Some with older versions, most with the 750. I regularly print 16x20 and I am happy with the results.
    You have given me something to aspire to, its great to see the quality that's achievable when you know what your doing.

Similar Threads

  1. Software for Fuji Lanovia C- 550, C- Scan Vs.3.2
    By yahozna in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1-Sep-2011, 02:38
  2. Can one change Epson 4990s focus w/ Epson Scan?
    By Heroique in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30-Sep-2009, 07:18
  3. macbook, V750, epson scan, scan speed
    By walter23 in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 7-Mar-2008, 02:07
  4. EPSON 4990 epson scan thumbnail preview problem?
    By Eugene Yang in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-Feb-2006, 12:52
  5. EVERSMART SCAN SOFTWARE UPDATE 1.01 to 3 ???
    By giancatarina in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-May-2005, 01:03

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •