Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Moving on from 35mm - to MF or LF?

Moving on from 35mm - to MF or LF?

Greetings all, I am a yet another amateur who decided it is time to move up from 35mm format (Olympus OM4Ti). I have played with Pentacon Six (East German 6x6) camera for a while and concluded that a) yes, I like working slowly from a tripod and composing in the WL finder; b) 35x24mm film size is ridiculous, what was I thinking?; c) Pentacon Six and Zeiss Jena lenses are cool but unfortunately way too unreliable to use. Now what to do?

My main photographic obsession are wilderness landscapes and I shoot exclusively slide film. For the future I have a few self-assigments in mind: a) landscape photography while backpacking in remote wilderness areas (like the Arctic tundra of Finland) for a week or two, carrying along all the food and survival equipment; b) making a collection of unique and unusual photographs of the local Alps where I live, by both carrying photo gear with me on mountaneering trips, and by running up the mountain for a couple of hours to a pre-selected location to catch the best light; c) making an "artistic" collection of interesting geological features in my region (I am a geoscientist). To illustrate my photographic vision and shooting style I have put a few examples of my work
    here .