Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie from Australia

Newbie from Australia

Hi all! I've been a long term lurker of the LF forum, and have finally been convinced to sign up by a friend user Stef. I'm a little out of place here as I don't yet actually have a LF cam - I'm hoping to have my bits & pieces sorted within a few months though, so In the mean time I thought I'd join, peruse the forum some more and take advantage of the huge knowledge base here!

In the grand scheme I'm relatively new to photography. I started shooting in the digital age, shot some film about 18 months ago and have been shooting only medium format for the last 6 months. The limitations of 6x7 (RB67) are becoming apparent, and I'm looking for that extra neg real estate 4x5 offers along with experimenting with movements. When I get my cam of course.

A friend (Stef, not sure of his actual username actually) posted on behalf of me here a couple of months ago regarding some bad B&W negative development - having not been a member at the time I never thanked the posters for their advice, so if any of you happen to stumble across this here introduction... thanks!

That's enough for now.. if you managed to read this post without immense boredom setting in, I salute you!

Re: Newbie from Australia

Welcome Jason, sheet film opens up a whole lot of possibles (and mistakes) that roll film doesn't although don't expect much better prints unless your printing big.
    Cheers Shane

Thanks for the welcome Shane I've been looking at doing some 30x24's from the 6x7's so I think the extra res from LF would certainly be welcome

Another Brisbane LF photographer! Welcome mate, enjoy your stay, plenty to see and do on here. Give me a shout if you need a hand with anything (I'm bris based too).

indecent exposure cosmicexplosion's Avatar

well the journey of a thousand dollars i mean miles begins with the first photo, i mean step.

welcome to the for...um.

this places is for umming.

so umm out loud.