Thread: Nikkor M 300 not sharp at infinity

Nikkor M 300 not sharp at infinity

Hello All,

I am fairly new to LF, and have been using my gear with a modicum of sucess. One thing that perplexes me is that I have used the Nikkor M300 mm, f9 lens on both close-up distances (~ 3 feet) and at infinity. My results are much better (tack-sharp) for close-up work. The infinity shots are comparatively soft. What is up with that?

Regards.

Shilesh

Hi Shilesh,

I've always had very good results with my 300-M so this is surprising. The lens is optimized for longer distances. Are you by chance using a thick lens board that is interfering with the element separation? That lens is physically pretty short and the back element screws down very close to the retaining nut.

Roy

My 300 M Nikon is extremely sharp at infinity. If the elements were not in the correct position (spaced) on the lensboard, I believe it would have an adverse optical effect for any shooting situation.

I would verify a series of variables that I feel could be the problem with your 300M. Is you focus position locked down tight? By chance did the camera shake during the exposure? By chance are you using camera movements with your infinity shot? Most novice LF shooters go overboard with movements and that could be your softness.

As accurately as possible, put your front and rear standard parallel to each other and make a real infinity exposure of a far distant subject and I will bet you it is where it should be.

Good Luck!

Hello Roy & Michael,