Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shen-Hao Ground Glass

Shen-Hao Ground Glass

Hi,

I finally got my Shen-Hao 4x5 and I am excited to dip my feet into LF photography. Even though I am absolutely excited about my first LF camera, there is one thing that bothers me a tiny bit. The GG seems to be really dark and a little hard to focus. I was wondering if you can recommend a different GG or a fresnel lens, to make it a bit brighter. At the moment even under the darkcloth it is very hard to see. When using the loupe it is a little better though. Since I am an absolute newbie when it comes to LF, I was wondering if this is normal and just the way it is, or if there is something I can do to improve this.

Thank you very much in advance and sorry if this is a stupid question
    Kindest regards
    Dennis

Lachlan 717

Re: Shen-Hao Ground Glass

What lens/lenses are you using?

A decent fresnel will certainly improve the image, as, too, will a Steve Hopf, Yankee et al after-market GG.
    Lachlan.

You miss 100% of the shots you never take. -- Wayne Gretzky

Just to be sure, are you focussing with lens wide open?
    Regards
    Erik

It's not easy... especially in bright daylight. A Bender helmet usually helps

Quote Originally Posted by Erik Larsen View Post
    Just to be sure, are you focussing with lens wide open?
    that's my bet. The lens is probably stopped down.
    Zak Baker
    zakbaker.photo

"Sometimes I do get to places just when God's ready to have somebody click the shutter."
    Ansel Adams

Thank you for your answers. Yes, I figured out to open up the lens and not trying to focus stopped down, but still it is hard for me to see. As soon as the darkcloth is not pulled tight around the camera, I basically don't see anything. The center of the image is ok, the corners nearly invisible.

I am using a 150mm lens for now.

Quote Originally Posted by rince View Post
    The center of the image is ok, the corners nearly invisible.